Remembering some old times

I was recently reminded of the time when I had to take my gremlins to daycare for the very first time. It wasn’t as traumatic for me as for some. More of a relief, in a way. See, up to the point in time when I decided to start the girls on the daycare path, I was attempting to work with them right in my office. Imagine, if you will, a 10×10 room with an L-shaped desk, shelves, a small couch, very little floor space, and a baby gate at the door. Now imagine a toddler & a mommy crammed in there. Not real conducive to a productive work environment.

As they got older, more mobile, and more adventurous it became exponentially more challenging to get anything done. So for me, it made all kinds of sense to enroll them in a “pre-school”. Besides, they were between 9-12 months old and I was lucky enough to do the part-time work / full-time mommy thing. 

But now they’re in elementary school and they come to the office for shorter, more managable periods of time. And they go to an on-site after school program three days a week that allows them to play with their classmates while still allowing me to get serious work done for those days. Win-Win. Therefore, no mommy guilt.    

Well, that’s what I keep trying to tell myself.

Thanks for listening (or reading, if you must be technical),

Ciao

Posted via email from Mother Musing

Leave a Reply

