Growing up fast

I feel as if I am constantly trying to slow down my Honey bunny. What do I mean? She’s growing up, getting bigger, becoming a young lady, and I’m doing just about everything in my power to make sure she doesn’t grow up too fast.

Is it wrong of me? Maybe. Do I think it’s the wrong way to handle it? Well, obviously no. But this is not to say that I’m not still helping her become an independent person, the thing is I really don’t want her to rush into her teenage years before she is actually a teenager. Make sense?

Like getting a cell phone and texting apps and email accounts and so on.

There is plenty of time yet for those things. But of course, she wants them all & she wants them all NOW. And she isn’t afraid to whine, beg, ask, whine, beg, and ask again. Even though we’ve told her 5,000 times that she isn’t getting a cell phone or email until point X in time.

I know there are parents who let their children have cell phones in the 5th grade (or earlier & that is their right) but for me (and our situation) I don’t feel it’s necessary for a 10 yr old to have a cell phone or email or texting abilities.

I guess I don’t want her to miss out on being a kid. Like not having to worry about things that are still way over her head. I suppose I’m trying to protect her for a bit longer before I become known only as the annoying, interfering parent. Or wait? Maybe I’m already known as that….

Thanks for listening (or reading, if you must be technical),

Ciao

Posted via email from Mother Musing

2 thoughts on “Growing up fast

  1. I totally agree with keeping your child a kid for as long as possible. Emiliano still doesn’t have a phone and I don’t feel he needs one. You’re doing a great job of raising her and we are glad to call her our friend ( and you guys too!)

Leave a Reply

