Random Tuesday Thoughts… for those of you who care what random things I’m thinking about right now

randomtuesday

Parenting WIN! My Pumpkin has told her whole karate class AGAIN that she got to go a poker party. Really, it was a costume party. I swear! And I told her that there are just some subjects that we don’t talk about outside of the house. But does she listen to me? Noooooooo. What’ll it be next?! Maybe I shouldn’t ask.

Sales tax return – yes, I’m still not done and it’s due & payable by Friday. Or, well technically, Monday ~I think~ since Saturday is the last day of the month. They give you that one extra day to get it filed. Now we have to do the filing via internet which makes it faster than mailing, certainly, but I had to learn a whole new way of doing the return since it’s different than the paper form.

We had a fabulous time at the costume (poker) party I mentioned above. The kids dressed in their costumes as well. Our friends decorated their garage to the hilt. It was amazing. And I did wear the Queen of hearts costume that I was discussing in a previous RTT. Here’s a pic of the husband & myself. I’d like to mention that I’m wearing like six inch platform shoes… in case you were wondering.

Rob-and-I

How do you like the photobomber in the background? Awesome! This is typical behavior for this group. We all try to mess with each others photos and over time we’ve gotten in some excellent bombs. Oh, yeah, I forgot to tell you, I won 2nd place in the costume contest. Squeeeee!

There is less than one month till we take our company trip to Vegas. For some reason I’m not as excited about this trip as I have been in previous years. I can only attribute this to the myriad of emotional & mental crap I’ve been going through lately. Well, that and the fact that we aren’t going out dancing this year. I LOVE to dance. And have been known to dance until 2-3am easily. We so rarely get to do that now that we’ve got gremlins. Plus, we are starting to approach the age where we probably don’t fit the demographic of most of the clubs, in other words and to be more brutal, we’re getting too old. DAMN IT. Blech.

Honey bunny will be starting her 6 month countdown to Black Belt in January. I’m really, really, really, worried that she’s not ready. They have to pass the President’s Physical Fitness in addition to the regular karate stuff (which is a tremendous amount on its own). I’ve been trying to get her to work out with me at least three times a week. Mostly what I get from her is complaining, whining, and crying. Not how I normally like to do my workouts. That’s not to say that I don’t feel like crying, whining, and complaining when I have to do MY workouts… I just keep it in my head and move on so that I can get the shite done.

My parents are coming home from Maui tomorrow. Unfortunately, there was only bad news after this last series of tests. It is becoming more difficult not to think about him dying sooner rather than later. And I just want to burst out crying EVERY TIME I think about it. I don’t know how I’m going to handle it when he’s gone. For months I’ve been putting on a good face, staying positive, and trying to spend as much time together as possible but it’s getting harder with each piece of bad news.

Gonna go watch some mind-numbing television now. It’s either that or drink a bottle of wine and I’m pretty sure the television is a better choice for my health. Boring. But better.

Thanks for listening (or reading, if you must be technical),
Ciao

Leave a Reply

