Sleepy Random Tuesday Thoughts

randomtuesday

Why is this post titled Sleepy Random Tuesday Thoughts? Because I took a Benadryl, and I can hardly keep my head from hitting the keyboard as I type this. So this week’s RTT will probably be short and may or may not make any sense as I’m barely coherent. This’ll be fun, don’t you think?

Yeah, I had to take a Benadryl today. Frackin allergies are starting up again with the changes in the weather. I’ve found that taking a half of one pill works splendidly without the sleepy side effects. Sadly, I bought the wrong type of caplets and these can’t be divided. FAIL.

Pumpkin told everyone at karate that she had a dream about a monster with three boobs. Awesome. Wanna talk about embarrassing. A chorus of giggles could be heard from the other kids. Well, and the parents too. This ties for #2 most embarrassing thing… when she was about 2 yrs old she pulled tampons out of my purse while we were at Honey bunny’s karate class. More awesome.

So Friday night was a surprise birthday dinner for my step-mom. She turned 70 years old. I know! But she doesn’t look or act like a 70 yr old. The woman plays tennis & golf three or four times a week. My brother & sisters and I decided to take her out to dinner with our Dad. No kids, just the core family including her brothers & sister (we kept it low key because of my Dad’s health issues). They ended up arriving before everyone. Except the husband & I, and her older brother & his wife. But she was still so shocked to see us there. The look on her face was classic.

Speaking of health issues… we’re waiting for more test results from the latest series of tests run on my Dad. I know I’ve never discussed his health situation before so you’re prolly all, “the Hells wrong with your Dad already?” Last year around Thanksgiving we found out that my Dad has cancer. It’s stage four. It’s incurable. It’s in numerous places throughout his body. You know, I had zero intention of writing about any of this today but it just starting spilling out. Since I’ve started, I might as well finish it. He did a round of chemo, radiation, and drug treatments back in late December, January, and part of February. At that point he lost a lot of weight and began having problems with his heart and liver which forced them to stop treatments until those secondary problems could be worked out.
In the meantime, he had to have a surgery on his heart to drain fluid that was building up around the heart causing pressure that could have made his heart explode at any time. Shortly after that they found cancer on his brain. They performed a procedure called cyber-knife. This is a seriously insane deal with lasers that eradicate the cancer without ANY recovery time. For reals. He went in for the procedure in the morning and left a couple hours later to go to work. It is so new that there are only two places in California that perform it.
So, needless to say, my folks have decided to start on his bucket list. People, I don’t know how else to say it but this scares the F–k outta me. I go back and forth with emotions that I cannot even begin to describe. My Dad isn’t suppose to die. I mean logically I know we don’t live forever but on the other hand, he is suppose to live forever, he’s my Dad! Yo, cancer can suckit.

On Saturday we had the husband’s HS reunion. It would be nice to say that it was only his 10 year reunion, but unfortunately I can’t say that because it was actually his 20 year reunion. I KNOW! 20 years have gone by since he graduated, and given the fact that we are the same age that means it’s been 20 years since I graduated from HS too. Blech. Between this and my Dad’s health I’ve been going through some major head trips. MAJOR. HEAD. TRIPS. And I don’t like it. However, I will say that it’s made me realize that you can’t wait to do the things you want to do. Go to the places you wanna see. Try the things you never thought you could do. I don’t want to regret NOT doing something when it comes to the end of my life. Really none of us know when that will be, right, so do it now.

Thanks for listening (or reading, if you must be technical),
Ciao

Leave a Reply

