Homework and the restless, whining, avoidance child

homework

This is one of those, ‘I’m SO not prepared for this’ posts. I just want to bang my head on the table in frustration. She refuses to listen to my suggestions, argues with me about what the teacher wants, and just generally whines about the HORRIBLENESS of homework.  Plus, she’s whining about being tired (avoidance).  ‘I can barely keep my eyes open’ she wails.  Uh, that isn’t going to work kid.  It’s only 4:00pm in the afternoon!

AAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH!!!

Well that helped, marginally.

You know, I seem to recall these types of encounters with my own mother. I’ll have to give her a call to apologize for being a KNOW-IT-ALL brat.  I suppose this is what happens when you have strong-willed personalities dealing with each other.

The thing that kills me is that she’s only in 3rd grade!!! I have 8 MORE YEARS of school with this child. This stuff is easy so what in the world will it be like when she gets into the hard homework??!!! Then, I still have Pumpkin to deal with. She hasn’t even started school yet. OMFG.

I truly admire those moms that have chosen to home school their children. You have far more patience than I do. You must, otherwise how could you do it? And with two & three children? I’m getting a headache just thinking about the prospect.

This day is one of those days that I question my sanity.  And my choices.  Why? Why? Why did we have children?  I love ’em but I’m frustrated as hell right now with this nonsense.  This behavior that makes me want to respond with violence or like committing Hara-Kari or running out into the middle of traffic.

You know what, this isn’t really helping.  I had hoped it would help me get over the frustration but it ain’t working.  BREATHING.  Slow breathing.  Picturing puppies.  And fields of tulips.  Waterfalls.  Naked men. {sigh}  OK, now I’m feeling better!

Thanks for listening (or reading, if you must be technical),

Ciao

8 thoughts on “Homework and the restless, whining, avoidance child

  1. I didn’t think those days would ever end, either. We went through torture with my second son and school work. Homeschooling didn’t work with him because he had brain damage from an immunization injury, but we didn’t know it at the time because it isn’t obvious. So we finally got him some help, but he still wouldn’t do the work. All the way through 9th grade he barely passed, and didn’t pass many classes.
    I had barely any hope that he would be able to graduate high school. I figured that manual labor jobs were all that were in his future.
    Then, this past summer when we wouldn’t let him get his driver’s permit because of grades, and the school took away his sports privledges, and he went an a huge spiritual growth trip, he suddenly changed.
    We petitioned the school to let him play sports provisionally because of his IEP, and then he said that he needed more incentive than being able to drive to get through the year and asked for a car, but we told him for a car he has to do more than PASS, he has to make the B honor roll the whole year.
    Yessir, he is doing amazing this year! He is so close this grading period to making the B honor roll! After last year only getting 9 out of 15 credits!
    Do I get to sit back and breathe a sigh of relief? Nope, because boy number 3 won’t do a cotton pickin’ thing at school. It starts all over again.

  2. Oh, and don’t think we are rich people who spoil their kids, lol. He will be getting an old beat up 1994 Geo Metro in snot green. LOL We already own it free and clear and desperately need a new car.

  3. OMG, I go through the same situation and mines is in the 2nd grade. At times, I feel there’s no way out of it and I, too have to take a breather and cool out for a few minutes. It’s all about patience.

  4. My son started this in Kindergarten!!!

    He’s in first grade now–and has recently been getting better–but it still feels like it’s more my homework than his!!! *sigh*

  5. Oh the many joys i have to look forward to. If it’s any consolation, I watched my sister do this to my mom.. and me being the suck up for attention (third child syndrome) I told my mom that i would LOVE doing my homework and would do it all the time… sad thing was I did until i hit grade 8 math, then it all went down hill LOL

    I have to wonder if it’s an early indicator of a different calling in life then school… well for higher education anyways.

    Does she like to read? Do you read around her? Maybe taking trips (just the two of you) to the library will help? Is she struggling with key concepts?

    Maybe nothing is wrong and she’s just pushing your buttons LOL Take a big bottle of wine, forget the glass and go with a straw, at least tomorrow is another day 🙂

  6. I’m with you on the homeschooling part. I just don’t have the patience.

    I am so freaked out about homework. Not so much on the making him do the homework part (I am psyching myself up for that battle already) but the me having to help part. I suck at ‘are you smarter than a 5th grader’! I have visions of my son failing 3rd grade because his mom helped him with his math homework and did it all wrong.

Leave a Reply

