Wine tasting – virtual style


Well, Friday night the Twittermoms wine club held it’s first Wine Tasting event – virtual style using Twitter to discuss. And what a smashing success it was. In fact, it held the 1st or 2nd spot ~for most of the night~ on the twitter search trending topics. We even beat Joe the Plumber. As often happens when women get together and drink, the conversation swayed from topic to topic like palm leaves blowing in a tropical breeze, from the wine (Concannon 2005 Limited Release Petite Sirah, Central Coast) to husbands “gettin lucky” to husbands not being home to naughty music videos to road trips for wine tasting in a minivan caravan to boobs and PANTY (I’ll share the story about that in a sec.) and then back to the wine tasting discussion. Needless to say it was a laugh riot!

We began the event as you would any wine tasting event by observing the color of the wine. Many noted that it was red, but a deep purple red. Aubergine was suggested. Perfect description of the color, I thought. Next we discussed smell. Spicy chocolate, hint of floral was offered as well as a bold smell. Personally I couldn’t pull any particular smells out of the wine except a bit of a peppery smell but perhaps it was because of the wine glass I was using? Or maybe it was just me & my inexperience with wine tasting. A couple of more experience wine tasting moms told me to cover my glass for a minute or two then sniff. Uh, still wasn’t unable to differentiate. But oh well. Lets move on, shall we?

At this point a few moms broke in with the music that they were listening. N.E.R.D, They might be giants, and Classical – she even laughed & called the choice pretentious. And then we were off on the topic of caravaning in minivans (can you imagine the site?!) to Napa Valley for live crazy wine tasting. And some moms were enjoying a roaring fire (while those of us in Cali lamented the fact that it was in the 90s & therefore far too hot for a fire). It was about this time that we noticed we were #1 on the trending topics! Whoot whoot! And even though we were technically still discussing the smell, most of us had already had of few nips of the vino.

**On a side note, I was trying to make dinner while participating in this event. So what does that mean? It means that I hadn’t eaten anything since oh… around noon. Me = light weight. Me = getting toasted. HA!

Anywho, then we got into talking about different cheeses that we’d pair with the wine. Smoked gouda, Brie, parmesan and colby jack were suggested plus monterey jack, mild cheddar, and pepper jack were all offered as delicious pairings.

Finally! Finally we moved on to taste. Chalky with a strong berry taste was shared, dark chocolate and anise, lots of berry flavors and smokiness. I felt it was quite spicy. With a lot of kick remaining on the tongue.

After I said I was getting a bit buzzed from the wine, one mom said, ‘Is this the stage where we start getting philosphical and saying things like, “I love you, Man”? LOL!’

**On another side note, ever notice how when you drink you’re speech begins to slur? Well, try typing while drinking (if you haven’t already) and you’ll find that your typing begins to gets REAL BAD.

So at this point, we were talking dessert! Chocolate mainly. Although one mom had carrot cake. This was when the whole PANTY incident began. You see, we were talking about sampling chocolate with the wine and one of the moms said she didn’t think she had any chocolate but then realized that she should check her pantry only she didn’t type pantry. You guessed it, she typed PANTY. Well you’d think we were a bunch of 12 year old boys because this set off a round of joking that had us laughing our guts out.

The event was scheduled from 5-7pm. It went on far longer than that time frame! I checked back later and they were still twittering about it two hours later. I can only in my wildest dreams figure what that event would have been like if we were all together in person sampling that wine! So much fun. Sadly, I think I’ll be missing the next event as we will be on our company trip to sin city. I think I’ll survive.

**Final side note: The wine actually tinted our tongues purple! One of the moms mentioned it first & I went to look in the mirror… sure enough!  It was tinted purple.

Thanks for listening (or reading, if you must be technical),
Ciao

6 thoughts on “Wine tasting – virtual style

  1. This is a great recap! I had even forgotten some of the things you mentioned and don’t remember a few! Must have been when I went to check my PANTY for chocolate.

    We will miss you at the next one. Are you sure your can’t bring/borrow/steal a lap top and join us anyway? Is there an internet cafe in Sin City? You could pour your wine into a Big Gulp cup!

  2. This is a great recap! I had even forgotten some of the things you mentioned and don’t remember a few! Must have been when I went to check my PANTY for chocolate.

    We will miss you at the next one. Are you sure your can’t bring/borrow/steal a lap top and join us anyway? Is there an internet cafe in Sin City? You could pour your wine into a Big Gulp cup!

  3. I know I’ll be missing out on all the twitter fun but we’ll be partying it up Las Vegas style! We have plans to go out to a club & dance & drink the night away. And maybe, just maybe, win some money. HA! We’ll see. 😉

  4. Great recap. I was laughing all over again remembering our antics. Who knew a virtual tasting would be so much fun?

    Too bad you’ll miss the next one. 😦 Although I’m sure Vegas will be fun too. 😉

  5. Yes the Chocolate in the Panty was the funniest part of the evening! How messy or “tasty” as some women put it! LMAO! We did get quite dirty, i’m sure next time there will be another slip of the finger!

    We will miss you for the next event but i’m sure you’ll be having a blast in Vegas!

Leave a Reply

