Mommy is a winner

So, I got m’self a speeding ticket today.  My first ever.  I know, I know, amazing, right??!  I mean how is it possible that I got a speeding ticket?  Who gets speeding tickets?  Well, me evidently.  But what else is amazing is that it’s my first.  I’m not a spring chicken anymore so I’ve got a few years driving under my belt.  And most of those years I’ve spent speeding everywhere.  On the freeway, through town, it doesn’t matter.  I almost never allow enough time to get where I need to go… speeding is a way of life for me.  Not to mention I drive an SUV with a V8 engine that has a lot of power and can go fast.  Today was just like any other day, except it was my turn.   

Here’s the scoop:
Pumpkin and I were heading into town to go to daycare this morning and in order to get to daycare we have to pass the high school.  Today good ol’ officer so-n-so was camped out in front of the school on his motorcycle with his trusty radar gun, unbeknownst to me.  We’re happily driving along (me excited that it’s still early enough that I’ll have time to stop off at Starbucks, gets some coffee, and write more of my terrible 1st novel) when BAM I look up and see officer so-n-so lower his radar gun and pull out into traffic right behind me!  I’m the lucky winner today!  Because, to be honest with you, I didn’t think I was going any faster than anyone else driving in front of me or behind me.  Welp, officer so-n-so was very nice asking if it had been a million years since I’ve gotten a ticket ~hey, I think I look pretty good for my age~ then asking for my license, registration, and proof of insurance, he went off to write me a ticket.  You didn’t actually think he would let me go, did you?  I was praying he would let me off the hook… I mean I did tell him it was my first speeding ticket EVER, unfortunately, I was speeding in front of a school for Pete’s sake!!  They take that kind of speeding more serious than any other kind.  He was incredibly helpful in not writing the ticket up for the actual speed I was driving but for 35 mph in a 25 mph zone.  This will save my hide.  Now I can just go to traffic school or complete some course online and POOF off my record, thank the Lord.

Anyway, so Pumpkin was quietly watching all that was happening from the comfort of her car seat and when we pulled back out into traffic she asked me, “mommy, what did he give you?”  I replied, “he gave me a ticket for going too fast.”  She excitedly shouts, “mommy is a winner, she got a ticket!”  Ooookkkk.  Not exactly.  Next she proceeded to sing, “mommy is a tattle tell, mommy is a tattle tell, mommy got a ticket, mommy is a winner” until we arrived at her daycare.  Oh the joy.

Thanks for listening (or reading, if you must be technical),

Ciao     

Leave a Reply

