Letter to me

Oh, how I wish that I could actually send this letter to myself.  If it were possible to somehow magically / time-travelly / psychically / telepathically send this missive to myself back in January 2006….

Dearest D,
WHATEVER YOU DO, DON’T SELL YOUR HOUSE!  AND FOR GOD SAKE DON’T BUY THAT HOUSE ON THE HILL!!  Sure you think the house is phenominal and has incredible views but you’ll regret it.  Yeah, I know it’s a single story house and that it’s great for having parties but the payment!  Plus, all those plans to make playdates for Honey bunny with her old friends ~ nice try ~ that’s not gonna happen and she is going to whine constantly about not having friends to play with.  Whatever you are smoking* right now is giving you a false sense of security or intelligence or something.  The economy is going to take a dump and the housing market is getting ready to flush itself down the toilet.  If you buy that house, you might as well light a fire to all the money you’ve managed to build up from all the previous properties that you’ve bought & sold.  And when you go to try to sell the house on the hill, it’s gonna be on the market for ages causing untold amounts of stress.  Just stay where you are, don’t make any sudden moves or rash decisions.  You will thank me later!  I know you hate the house you’re living in right now (affectionately known as Money Pit Jr) but it will pass or if you wait another year, then sell the house you will still make a profit AND be able to buy another house at a huge savingsPlease. listen. to. me.  I know what I’m talking about.  Be patient.  Those investments that you & the husband got into are not going to pay off as anticipated but you won’t find that out until too late.  You can’t count on that money to help you make the giant mortgage payments you’re gonna have.  Hear what I’m telling you, you’re gonna lose the condo in LV if you do this.  Just hold on a little longer to the house and you can sell it after the housing market corrects itself.  Trust me, it’s for the best!  Good luck!

Love you girl,
D from the future   

(*Writer’s note: Not that I was actually smoking anything of any kind at the time nor have I smoked anything of any kind in more than a decade.) 

*****************************
Yes, hindsight is really 20/20.  What we know now, I really truly wish we knew then.  But that would have destroyed the lesson we were clearly meant to learn.  I’m fairly certain I have figured out most of the point in this ordeal, but hell, for all I know there could be more yet to come.  I will say this, I am so very very mad at myself for not listening to the “little” voice in my head that was screaming & yelling at me not to sell the house.  And telling me that we were making a mistake of gargantuan proportions (I am in no way exaggerating this statement).   B the W, that “little” voice was screaming & yelling at me about buying the house on the hill, too.  Did I listen then either, NO, oh NO.  

Thanks for listening (or reading, if you must be technical),

Ciao

Leave a Reply

