MRI Results

Ok, so I got the news… but before I tell you what the doc told me, I’m gonna “force” the back story on ya.  For at least the last 2 yrs (and I think it started after reaching from the driver’s seat all the way to the back of the back seat ~WHILE DRIVING~ to get Pumpkin’s pacifier) I have been dealing with a progressively increasing back/hip/leg pain.  At first it barely bothered me.  And given that it was painful only at infrequent, random times, I let it go.  I let it go for about 1 1/2 yr.  Until roughly 10 months ago. 

At that point, I mentioned something to my doctor about the pain.  He did a couple tests.  But there didn’t appear to be a real problem.  I was able to do all the things he asked, and had no constant pain down my leg.  So he told me to watch my posture.  Plus, gave me a paper with a few exercises that he wanted me to do at home.  I’ll be honest, I looked at the paper he gave me and almost laughed.  I thought, there is no way that doing these dumb F**king exercises are gonna help make this pain go away.  But I took it anyway.  Then proceeded to do NONE of the exercises.

Fast forward 6 months.  The pain was now consistent and frequent; like every time I stood up.  So having finally gotten sick of the pain interfering with my life I went to see the doctor again.  He did the same tests as before.  But because I told him it was bothering me more regularly, he sent me to the physical therapist.  I was good.  I went to the appts and did the exercises they told me to do.  I even did the exercises at home!  And I’ll admit notice some improvement.  I now had the ability to reduce the amount of time it took to recover from the pain after standing by shifting my body into proper posture.  You know, shoulders back/stomach sucked in/pelvis tipped forward/blah/blah.

Unfortunately, this didn’t help in the long run.  The pain continued to worsen and become so bothersome that I went back to the doc.  Thus leading to my appt. for an MRI. 

***** 

But wait, there’s more, if you call right now, ~NO JUST KIDDING~ I have to tell you this part as I find this hilarious.  When I went to the doc two weeks ago, and I told him again about the pain, he acted like it was the first time I had ever mentioned the pain!  Hello!  YOU sent me to the physical therapist!  So he says, “well why don’t we see if it gets any worse over time.”  HUH?  Hasn’t enough time gone by with it getting worse by the week?!  I tried to tell him that it hurt when I did “this” or “that” and he proceeds to tell me, “well don’t do ‘that’.”  Har, har, rib, rib… as he’s walking out of the exam room.  ARE YOU FREAKIN KIDDING ME RIGHT NOW?! (To steal a phrase from my friend M)  

Being the pleaser that I am, I almost agreed with him.  But then I thought, I’ve been telling you for months that my back is hurting me & I have shooting pains down my leg when I stand up or am sitting in the car or trying to make my daughter’s bed or reaching for anything that requires me to twist.  I’m not waiting any longer.  So I say, “but it’s interfering with my life!  I can’t get on the floor to play with my kids, I can’t get out of the car without having to hold onto the door so I won’t fall when the pain hits me, and I can’t make my own bed without there being pain.” (and not the kind of pain that comes with having to make one’s bed). 

I think this is what finally convinced him that I wasn’t kidding.  So a week later, I’m gettin an MRI.  Hence my first Wordless Wednesday post.

***** 

Well, now that this has gone on long enough, I’ll tell you, I talked to the doctor on Friday about the results from the MRI.  He paused ever so slightly before beginning to tell me what he saw.  And my first reaction to his pause was, “OMG, he’s going to tell me that there is NOTHING wrong with me!”  But he said this instead, “well, this turned out to be more serious than I originally thought.”  YA THINK?!  Been in a little bit of pain here.  He goes on to say, “I’d like you to see a Neurologist to discuss the next course of action.” 

WOW.  O…K…

So basically, one of the disc in my lower back is pinching a nerve.  How severe it actually is, I don’t know, since I haven’t seen the MRI.  And frankly, unless I had a professional pointing out the problem area, I would have no bloody idea what I was looking at. 

In a month (this was the soonest he could see me), I’ll be visiting the Neurologist to figure out what we’re gonna do now.

And so continues the saga….

Thanks for listening (or reading if you must be technical),

Ciao

Leave a Reply

