A million dollars worth

A million dollars worth of… what?  You may be asking.  Could it be a million dollars worth of dog food?  Mascara?  Toilet bowl cleaner?  None of those things, actually.  Ok, here’s the lowdown.  The other day at our office I got a great big laugh when a friend of mine mentioned that her daughters were fighting over a toy.  As a mom, I know & you know this can be a fairly typical scenario.  In fact, I don’t think a day goes by that my girls are fighting over something.  Anyhoo, the story goes like this… her older daughter (who is 7yrs old) was getting mad at her little sister (who is 2yrs old) because the little one was trying to play with her toy.  At this point my friend tells her older girl, “Just let her play with it!  We must have a million dollars worth of toys in this house!  Find something else to play with!”  There, so now you know its a million dollars worth of TOYS.

Isn’t that hilarious?!  Tell me you aren’t laughing.  I mean really, how true is that?!!  Don’t we all save like every toy ever bought, or received as gifts for baby shower/birthday/Christmas/Hanukkah/Kwanzaa, or gotten from McDonalds?  ~Oh, come on, I can’t be the only one.  ~ And when adding the value of said toys, they must add up to AT LEAST a million dollars, right? 

So, what was really funny (for me) about this story, is that this EXACT thing happened with my two daughters not a day before W told me her story.  My 7 yr old (Honey bunny) ordinarily couldn’t give two straws for a toy until her sister (Pumpkin) decides that she wants to play with it.  (BTW, for those of you who noticed, I’m now going to use their nicknames because I’m sick of typing ‘the 7yr old’ or ‘the 2yr old’, it’s starting to annoy me, I can only imagine what its doing to you.)  Now it suddenly becomes her most favorite toy in the whole world; despite the fact that she hasn’t laid eyes on it in months ~or years depending on the toy!  That just doesn’t matter.  Now I have found this to be especially true if the toy originally belonged to Honey bunny.  She will complain that it was her toy and so Pumpkin shouldn’t be allowed to play with it.  And we’re talking about baby/toddler toys.  Things that a 7yr old wouldn’t give the time of day to under normal circumstances.  But now Pumpkin wants it and that’s not at all ok with Honey bunny. 

And so begins the ensuing tug-o-war and screech fest, my two *favorite* things, that they are convinced is the only way to handle the situation.  This, of course, requires my intervention or the toy is a goner.  I certainly could leave them to fight over it, but from past experience I have found this not to be a real workable solution.  Generally that path leads to more screaming and chaos; I just don’t have time for that (or patience, for that matter).

In the end, I basically come to the same conclusion as my friend… yell at Honey bunny to give the blasted toy to Pumpkin so she’ll stop screaming!  And while you’re at it, just go find one of the other million dollars worth of toys to play with!  Or wait a mere 3 minutes and Pumpkin will be tired of the toy and drop it like it’s a hot potato.  Oh well, eventually I’ll be able to bang my head against a brick wall, I mean, reason with the 2yr old.  In the mean time, Honey bunny will just have to learn to give up the toy and find other entertainment.  Like sending IMs to her friends through her Nintendo DS.

Thanks for listening (or reading if you must be technical),

Ciao 

Leave a Reply

