I had the best drink EVER

Ok, it may not have been the best drink EVER but it was pretty damn close.  Our little town of 35,000 people now has a Peet’s Coffee & Tea, IN ADDITION to the FIVE, yes I said FIVE Starbucks that we have in town.  You see there is one Starbucks in Safeway (a grocery store ~for those of you unfamiliar) and then there is a Starbucks right across the street from Safeway and then there is another one in the Safeway that is about three blocks away (and for those of you counting that makes TWO Safeways in our little town.*) and then there is another Starbucks right across the street from that Safeway and finally there is a drive-thru Starbucks.  The drive-thru is my favorite because then I don’t have to haul the kids out of the car & into the Starbucks.  True convenience, folks.

*Just in case you were interested, our town seems to have a “thing” for multiples.  Besides the examples of Starbucks & Safeway, we also have three Subways, three McDonalds, two Jamba Juice, two Panda Express, two Baskin Robbins, and finally two Taco Bell.  Not forgetting to mention the Jack in a Box, Burger King, Pizza hut, and Round table pizza.  What it sounds like is we are all a bunch of fast food junkies!

Moving on… so now that Peet’s is open, a couple of my friends have tried a drink that they make there (yes, the one I’m referring to in the title of this post).  They didn’t know how to pronounce it so they just pointed at the giant picture of it that was hanging on the wall and told the girl to make them that drink.  Well, I finally got to try it and I can safely say that I am now addicted to this drink!  I want one everyday.  It is awesome!  I don’t even really know the name of it, but I think it’s called something like a Scharffen Berger Chocolate Mocha Freddo.  It is made with Scharffen Berger Chocolate, which I think is what makes it both delicious and addictive.  They blend the chocolate into the drink and then they shave some of it right on top of the whole can of whip cream they empty onto the drink.  Plus, they drizzle caramel sauce over the whip cream & chocolate shavings.  Are you beginning to understand why I love this drink?  Even as I write this post & think about the drink, I want one now!!  I may have to hurry up and go there, as soon as I am finished writing, to get another one.

I did a quick search on their website to locate this delectable drink but I couldn’t find anything except that they have a kit you can use to make this drink AT HOME.  Yummy!  I know that a drink this unbelievably good has to be very, very bad for you.  But luckily I haven’t found anything on their site about it.  And as they say, ignorance is bliss.  So until I am unfortunate enough to discover just how many grams of fat and calories are in this drink, I will continue to drink them blissfully unaware of how badly I am sabotaging my attempt to get my ass back into shape.

Now go, try one and become addicted just like me.  MUAHAHAHA!

Thanks for listening (or reading if you must be technical),

Ciao

(7/20/07 Writer’s note: I received a comment that just really got my curiosity peaked so I googled the nutritional information for the drink and this is what I found.  Read the Mocha freddo info.  Scary but very enlightening.  I will now be getting these drinks in the Non-fat, No Whip version.  And only as a special treat.  But DAMN IT the drink is good!)

(9/6/07 Writer’s note: Since writing this post, we have been graced with the presence of TWO more Starbucks!  There is a new one in the brand spanking new Target that is now open AND there will be another Drive-Thru Starbucks in that shopping center.)

3 thoughts on “I had the best drink EVER

  1. Large? With Whip?
    You don’t want to know, girl. The calories are the amount of a moderate meal, and the fat? More than someone should eat in 1 day. It could be worse. Actually, a small with no whip and non fat milk was not bad at all….
    I’m a calorie counting crazed maniac. I just had to know. So, I googled it. The nutritional info is on their website 🙂

    I bet it is amazing! You made me salivate just describing it. Alas, my venti white mocha latte days are over, now that I pay someone to watch me weigh every week. Our town has 4 starbucks, and they know me by name in everyone. But worse than that, they know Grace by name. She is the world’s only frappacino 4 year old queen! One a week, and no caffeine. They always put her name on the cup. It makes her feel special….

  2. You are probably right! I will go look up the information at some point but maybe after one more… 😉
    That is too cute that Grace gets a Frap with her name on it!

  3. Pingback: Children + Grocery store = Mom meltdown « ::.Mother Musings.::

Leave a Reply

