Is it a miracle?

I really, really, really don’t want to jinx it, but for the last few nights, the 2yr old has been sleeping through the night!!!  I am so excited about the prospect of full, uninterrupted nights of sleep again.   It has basically been 3 yrs (if you count the time I was pregnant) since I have had a whole night of sleep that has in no way been dissected by a crying child or the unbelievable need to pee due to a baby pushing on my bladder.  And, if you want to be technical, you could say it has actually been almost 8 yrs since I have had the privilege of an unbroken night of sleep.  This is, of course, due to the fact that we also have a 7yr old. 

It’s amazing the difference in how I feel physically, emotionally, mentally, and some other ~ally after having sleep STRAIGHT through the night.  I’m still going to bed between 10:30-11:00pm and getting up about 6:00am but the distinction is that I’m not getting up at 12:30-1:00am & then again at 3:30-4:00am.  So what does that add up to?  Potentially 7 + hrs of SOLID sleep.  Yeah Me! 

There hasn’t been any sort of change in the bedtime routine, yet.  I am still giving her a bottle at bedtime (and I know there are some that would tell me it is WAY past the time stop stop this ~but it’s the easy way and I’m tired!).  We read a couple books.  I lay her in her crib while she is still slightly awake, at least I’m doing this right according to all the parenting experts.  So there is no clear cut explanation as to why she is now sleeping through the night.  Perhaps it’s because she is older now.  Her sister didn’t sleep through the night until she started Kindergarten ~ I swear it’s true!  And it drove the husband & I insane.  Not completely insane, just partially.  Enough to think we should do it all over again after having a (nearly) self-sufficient 4 yr old. 

It might be due to the fact that she now goes to day care/preschool 5 days a week and is getting lots of exercise & entertainment.  Plus, she is only sleeping an 1 1/2hr for nap time.  That must be the key.  Wear them out.  Use up all the energy their little bodies naturally produce so they just can’t do anything but sleep in order to recover.  I’ll have to thank the ladies at the day care for helping me in this manner.

Wish me luck in continuing nights of beautiful, uninterrupted sleep!

Thanks for listening (or reading if you must be technical),

Ciao 

Leave a Reply

