Another 10 yrs gone

My 2 yr old is going to be the death of me.  I hate to keep saying that but she is scaring the life out of me!!  Hence the title of this post.  I have lost another 10 years of life… I’ll get to that part of the story later.  In the mean time, I’ll do a bit of explaining, this child is a daredevil/monkey.  I didn’t really think that I would ever have a child that was a daredevil.  I’m just too cautious by nature.  My personality is such that I check, recheck, and triple check things before sending (emails, these posts, or lunch boxes ~ I worry about whether I locked the front door).  I wouldn’t go to the point of diagnosing it as OCD.  I’m not THAT bad.  Moving on, I don’t really like to ride roller coasters, but I will force myself just to prove that I can do it and I’m not a total chicken s**t.  Plus, my 1st born is fairly cautious.  I guess this is partly attributed to the fact that I hovered over her constantly.  I worried about her falling or hurting herself anytime we were out at the park or even at Gymboree where everything is padded!  She was, and still is not the type to just jump in & try something new.  So it just never dawned on me that I would have a child that (to date) shows no fear.  I figured I’d have another child with the same basic personality traits as me & my 1st born.

I suppose I really shouldn’t be surprised.  My genes are only half of her genetic make-up.  Apparently, the husband was QUITE the handful when he was a child.  Not entirely certain if my mother-in-law embellished stories of him in his youth or they are accurate accounts of events.  In either case, he scared a few years off her life. 

Now, both the girls were spending the night at my in-laws over the weekend and they had the opportunity to go swimming.  Well, evidently (since I was not there to view firsthand) my little daredevil was standing on the edge of the pool ready to jump in!  Little Miss Thing (or LMT for short) just knew that she could do it.  My mother-in-law was in the pool at the time, thank goodness.    I have to tell you that LMT has not had ANY swimming lessons so why she thinks she can do this, only she knows.  I’ve decided I probably ought to get her some swimming lessons ~fast.

In another case, LMT was caught climbing up the pantry shelves to get to her favorite snacks!  Or there was the time that she pushed her rocking horse over to her crib and climbed IN.  This was a new one for me.  Her older sister only ever tried to climb OUT of the crib.  Lets see, there was an incident when she got her step stool out and climbed up to the counter in her bathroom.

Do we see a pattern here?

OK, so to get to the point, yesterday I was at home with both the girls and we were playing in my bedroom.  The 7yr old was watching a program on t.v.  LMT & I were doing puzzles, reading books, and generally playing on the floor.  She gets up and runs out of the room.  We live in a one story house, which means that I don’t have to worry about her falling down flights of stairs.  It is for this reason that I have given her some freedom and let her “roam” the house.  I had the baby monitor on in our room and could hear that she went into her room.  I called out to her to come back to my room and she being the little independent girl that she is, called out “I be right back” in her little toddler, pacifier hanging out of her mouth, voice.  Naturally I believed that she was just getting more toys for us to play with or more books to read.  Well, I was wrong….

What I heard next was what scared the 10 years off of my life.  The sound was that of something incredibly heavy crashing to the ground and then the 2 yr old screaming bloody murder.  I ran into her room faster than I have run anywhere – EVER.  The changing table was lying on the ground and she was standing next to it, scared and crying.  I thanked God that she wasn’t under it and picked her up to find out what had happened.  From what I could decipher, she was trying to climb up the changing table and it tipped over.   Luckily she wasn’t hurt, besides a small bruise on her nose where part of the table had hit her.  We put an ice pack on her nose and within about 5 minutes she was done with it & ready to play.  I don’t even want to think about what could have happened because every time I do, I start to cry.    

I now fully understand the purpose of furniture straps.  This daredevil/monkey behavior was never an issue with my 7 yr old.  It is THE ISSUE with my 2 yr old.  I am entirely grateful that I will have the opportunity to hover over her like a UFO.  And invest in some furniture straps….

Thanks for listening (or reading if you must be technical),

Ciao     

Leave a Reply

