We’re moving, again.

For sale signWe have put our house up for sale and it’s been on the market for roughly one week.  Our Realtor held an open house this past weekend.  There was a really good turn out with a number of potentials.  In fact, one couple is coming back tonight to see the house.  We are hoping they make an offer.  Frankly, the sooner this is over the happier I will be.  You see, we had the house “staged” by a professional interior designer.  Which means that we are renting all the things he brought in to make the house look like a show piece.  Yes, the house does look FABULOUS.  It was kinda like walking onto one of those reality shows where the family goes away & when they come back the house is totally re-done. 

This would be all well and good if we didn’t have children.  But we do.  And keeping the house looking like a photo shoot from Architectural Digest is really, really taking a toll on me & the girls.  It has only been one week and I am already sick to death of saying, “put that down!” or “we can’t play with that”, or “that doesn’t belong to us!”.  What has probably been the hardest thing to deal with, ridiculous though it may sound, is keeping the kitchen chair pads clean!  We have a two year old!  PLEASE!  She spills food and drinks on everything!  BTW, she spilled CHOCOLATE MILK on the pretty white & green stripped chair pad just this very morning (case in point).  I’ve tried putting towels on top of the chair pad to alleviate the stains from spills but then she throws a tantrum because she doesn’t like the towel there.

You may be asking, why don’t you just take off the chair pad?!  Well, see, we have metal chairs with a sort of lattice seat.  They are surprisingly comfortable if you are sitting on your bottom.  But (not Butt) the 2 yr old can’t reach the table if she sits that way so she kneels on the chair.  Kneeling on a metal lattice seat is not at all comfortable for little 2 yr old knees or knees of any age.  So that explains ~I think~ why I won’t take the chair pad off.

Now, I have been keeping the house *spotless* so that at a moments notice or no notice anyone could tour the house.  This is incredibly challenging.  I am constantly picking up papers or socks & shoes or tissues or dishes left scattered about.  I was doing these same things before, however, the difference now is that I have to do it about 500 times per day. 

I let a lot of things slide when I’m not worried about how immaculate the house needed to look at every second of the day.  Dishes were left by the sink (I still don’t understand why the husband can’t put them IN the sink & I’ll save that discussion for another day), dishes left in the sink (by me), dishes left in the dishwasher (again by me).  I always got to them… eventually.  Generally before they got too stinky.  Extra shoes and socks left in the living room or lying about on the floor in the girl’s rooms.  There was never any real reason to pick these things up continuously, at some point or another they would all be cleaned or put away.

Having to make my bed every day, having to make the girls beds every day!  BLAH!  I can hardly stand it.  I’m not usually a total neat freak so this much effort on a daily basis is driving me nuts.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a slob either, I just don’t see the point in making my bed EVERY DAY.  Or having to do the dishes the very minute that they have been used.  What an absurd waste of time.  How does that saying go?  A clean house is the sign of a misspent life.  I couldn’t agree more!

Oh, yeah, neglected to communicate this little tidbit.  We had to take down the 62 in. flat panel T.V. and entertainment center in our family room AND the 37 in. flat panel in our bedroom.  The whole family has been watching the incy wincy 13in T.V. that was the 2 yr olds.  Do you have any idea what it’s like to have to watch Elmo or Strawberry shortcake for the 1,000th time because the only thing the t.v. will play are videos and all the other videos have been boxed and stored & we have no cable?!!    

Honestly, I don’t even want to be here.  If we aren’t here, then we can’t mess it up.  And I won’t have to watch the same dang video AGAIN.  I’ve been racking my brain trying to come up with places to go or things to do that will keep us out of the house.  We’ve eaten dinner out 5 of the last 7 days.  It’s getting unbelievably expensive.  Right, I forgot to mention that as part of the “staging” we have to leave *all* the lights on in *all* rooms of the house.  I DO NOT want to see what our PG&E bill will be next month.  And I’m begging, pleading, whining to whomever is in charge, PLEASE let this be over soon. 

Once we have an offer that we’ve accepted, we can go back to our slightly piggish ways.  I won’t have to constantly nag the girls about touching stuff, I won’t have to repeatedly clean all rooms of the house, I won’t have to wash all dishes the instant we are done with them.  We’ll be able to live in the house again, if only temporarily.  Then it will all be a matter of finding our new house, boxing the rest of our things, and moving in to the newest *S* residence!  HA!  Let me say that I am hoping it’s as easy as that.

Thanks for listening (or reading if you must be technical),

Ciao

Leave a Reply

