The bathroom scale…

is not my friend.  I would certainly love to be best friends with my bathroom scale but it has to start lying to me for us EVER to be on BFF terms.  I’m entirely serious.  I don’t like that it continually tells me the truth.  I’ve tried threatening it with the trash can but apparently I’m either not very convincing or it has no fear.  I’m not specifically saying that the scale has to alter the truth overmuch, but by *slightly* modifying the truth we could definitely become closer. 

Every morning I greet the scale (perhaps today it will tell me what I want), I step on the scale, and then I’m fairly certain it makes a sickly groaning noise.  However, that could actually be me uttering the pathetic sound when I read the daily results.  Lately, ~and if I’m honest, for a while now~ it hasn’t told me what I want it to, in fact, it’s pretty far off from what I want it to say. 

I mean really, how is it possible that I weigh the same amount as yesterday or two days ago?  I’ve gone to the gym twice this year.  I don’t snack much.  I eat “diet” food.  Now before you jump on me about the “diet” food comment, I will say that Lean Cuisine is some really tasty stuff.  I love the panini sandwiches & a couple of the pizza’s aren’t bad.  Generally I eat regular food for dinner though I’ve been consciously watching my portions and I try to limit the bowls of ice cream down to two a day.  OK, this is all slightly exaggerated.  But I have been actively working on toning up and slimming down.  It’s just not going as well as I anticipated.

Oh, sure, when I started working on dropping a few lbs, the results were *spectacular*.  Lots of improvement fairly quickly.  But now, not so much.  Yeah, yeah, I know “they” say that’s typical.  More rapid weight loss in the beginning and then more time & effort required for the last 10-15 lbs.  The fact is that I am actually having to work harder to eat/snack less and exercise more.  Cutting out calories at this stage is even more difficult because I’ve already cut out so many! 

Please understand, I’m not trying to be as thin as a runway model or supermodel, I just want to be healthy and physically fit.  I have two young kids (children not goats) that are highly activeEspecially the 2 yr old.  She is getting into ever more trouble now than before.  Chasing after her requires energy, quick speed, and agility ~all of which I am still sorely lacking.  I want to be around for a long time to watch them grow up & watch them do all the stuff their gonna do in their lives.  I suppose in that case, maybe it’s better that the bathroom scale is not lying to me.  By always telling me the truth, I am forced to reevaluate what I’m doing or not doing / eating or not eating on a daily basis.

Well, ok, maybe I’ll change my opinion about the scale.  I won’t go so far as to say that it’s my BFF but maybe I’ll say it’s a helpful “friend” that always tells you the *absolute* truth even though you have no desire to hear it….

Thanks for listening (or reading if you must be technical),

Ciao 

Leave a Reply

