More dramatics

This sign was posted on my daughter’s bedroom door after I made her take a timeout. 

note

Here’s the story.  On this particular day, I picked her up from school and the minute she got into the car she started speaking rudely and talking back to me about everything and anything.  I told her that she does not have the right to talk to me or anyone else in that manner (blah, blah, blah was all she heard, I’m sure!).  So she continued to talk to me in the same rude way (despite my warning), therefore I told her that she would have to take a timeout when we got home. 

She was livid!  She stormed off to her room the second I parked the car, she made this sign, and hung it on her door.  In case you haven’t figured it out yet, it says, “DO NOT ENTER MOM! NOW!”  I’m not exactly sure what the “NOW!” part is suppose to mean but it’s still pretty funny.  And of course, “ETRE” (the French verb – to be) is really supposed to be spelled “ENTER”.  She’s only in 1st grade.  I expect misspellings, hell, I still misspell words.  Thank you Mr. Computer Spell checker.  I had to take this picture to immortalize it.  At some point when she’s older we will laugh about it, I have hope.  Even still, I think it’s hysterical right now. 

I didn’t fathom that this kind of thing would start at such an early age.  Honestly, I don’t remember doing this type of thing until I was maybe 11 or 12 yrs old, but we would have to consult with my mom for verification on that.  I’ll get back to you….  I guess I just expected that something like this would happen when we she was in her teens.  But here it is any way, much earlier than anticipated. 

It makes me wonder what sort of drama we will see from her when she actually has some “awful, horrible, terrible” thing occur.  You know what I’m referring to, right?  Friends not including you in activities, the boy that your crushing on likes someone else, AND you’ve got a *HUGE* zit on your nose; those are the sort of things that require a major dramatic reaction.  But getting a time out?  Apparently she has started working her dramatic actress skills now because she will be a famous Oscar-winning actress later!  Well, we shall see.

In the meantime, I will brace myself for many more years of dramatics.  I know this is barely the tip of the iceberg.

Thanks for listening (of reading if you must be technical)

Ciao

Leave a Reply

