All the little details

As I was watching my 2 yr old play with her new puzzle (yes, I did actually let her pick out a NEW toy for herself), I was thinking back to the time my 7 yr old was this age.  I’m grieved by the fact that I have forgotten so many of the details.  You may know what I’m talking about.  The adorable things your children do or say ~ you swear to yourself that you won’t ever forget that precious moment in time, but unfortunately as time does go by you do forget all those little details.  Sure, there are pictures of them doing cute things or if you’re REALLY good, then there’s video of them doing cute things.  But what about the moments when you weren’t ready with the video camera?  Life has not outfitted us with a special recording device like Tivo.  It just isn’t possible to pause, rewind, and replay those moments.  So, the memories just fade away… of course, we are left with the dreamlike sense of that wonderful time we had with our child/children, just not the actual event.

I made a promise to myself that I would *try* to write down the funny words they invented or pronounced wrong.  I got a few of them down on paper, a mispronounced word like “pasgetti” or how she always called an artichoke “garlic” (this one is this a mystery to us too) but for the most part I have failed in my promise.  Life is just too busy.  And generally the more children you have, the busier your life tends to be.  So you think to yourself, I will write that down as soon as I get a second.  But, we all know how it goes, you get involved in one thing or another, select from the following options: laundry, dishes, homework, picking up random bits & pieces of games/toys left all over the floor in every room of the house.  Which makes me wonder why do I allow these sorts of games / toys into my house??!  Frankly, I don’t think my real purpose for being on this earth is to “fish” tiny games pieces out of our couch. 

Moving on, here is one of the things my 2 yr old says to me, “you drive me crazy”.  Well Ok, I don’t ever recall saying this to her or her big sister but apparently I must have or how else could she say it to me now?  Maybe it was her Dad!  I’ll blame it on him.  So we spent the next 5 minutes going back and forth with, “you drive me crazy, no you drive me crazy, you drive me crazy, no you drive me crazy”.  But I got even with her.  I tickled her until she couldn’t stand it anymore (listen for evil laugh).  One of my consummate favorites, “you come here now!” .  With this specific statement, I have absolute clarity of the many times and situations that I have been forced to shout it out.  2 yr olds think it’s hysterical to run away from you while you are in the middle of putting on their other sock or even changing their diaper.  In fact, the latter is particularly hilarious for them because their NAKED!  I can’t help myself but to laugh right along… naked butts are kinda funny!

So now all I need to do is search my brain, in the deep dark nooks & crannys of my brain, to extract some memory of when my 7 yr old was 2 yrs old.  Man, that’s going to be altogether challenging, I’ve lost quite a few brain cells in the last five years.  Oh yeah, I just remembered, as a mother I lost half my brain to the first baby I delivered AND then lost the second half to the second baby I delivered.  Wow, I must really be exceptional to still function without any brain at all!

Thanks for listening (or reading if you must be technical)

Ciao 

Leave a Reply

